On Thursday, October 19, 2017, Lorne R. Segal, O.B.C, D.Litt.(Hon.), President of Kingswood Properties Ltd. – Chair of Coast Mental Heath Foundation’s Courage To Come Back Awards – was recognized through the CAMH Difference Makers initiative as one of the top 150 Leading Canadians for Mental Health. The event celebrated mental health Difference Makers from BC, the Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

As Chair of Coast Mental Health’s Courage To Come Back Awards for 12 years, Mr. Segal shares his genuine, unwavering and impactful commitment to mental health with over 1,500 attendees each year. Beginning his involvement with Coast Mental Health 20 years ago – a time when mental illness was not a popular cause – Mr. Segal’s leadership in raising awareness of community mental health has been transformational for this little-understood area of mental health recovery. Over the years, he has developed a keen understanding of the important role Coast Mental Health has in transforming the lives of those faced with mental illness. During his speech at Thursday’s event, Mr. Segal described Coast’s purpose with elegant simplicity: “Bridging the gap between diagnosis and recovery is what Coast Mental Health does.”

Mr. Segal’s efforts are borne from extraordinary generosity, fueled by outstanding commitment, and aimed at a clear vision: a world where through compassion and courage, recovery is possible. His passion and commitment for 20 consecutive years, with no sign of slowing down, are very rare and a true testimony of Mr. Segal as a leading Canadian for mental health. Coast Mental Health is honoured to have nominated Mr. Segal for this well-deserved recognition.

To close his speech, Mr. Segal recognized the other recipients who have made a difference in the lives of people living with mental illness in Canada: “I would like to salute all the Difference Makers in the room, and acknowledge how proud I am to be in your company today.”

Congratulations to Mr. Segal on this tremendous achievement!

Read Mr. Segal’s story and those of the other recipients